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Make a ContributionSo today we're going to go over what sponsorships are, the types that you can do, what the industry standards are. And a few questions that you will ask yourself as you get started with sponsorships.
Steps for Skill Mastery:
When people think about monetizing a podcast, the first thing that comes to mind for most is advertisements from another company at the beginning or middle of their episode. This is one of several methods and the most traditional route of monetizing a podcast.
Typically the companies that run ads with you will have strong ties to your audience and have a product that aligns well with them. Recently this is beginning to change as more and more large companies, such as Intel and HP, start advertising on seemingly random podcasts. This is great for podcasters because it proves that podcasting is indeed becoming a mainstream form of media.
And sponsors love podcasts - the return on their investment is outstanding because sponsors know listeners trust the podcast they listen to and will trust anything you recommend.
The podcasting industry has standards around sponsorships including the types of advertisement spots and how much money ads cost.
There are three main types of ad spots for sponsors in podcasts:
Now the cost for each of these ad spots is based on industry rates and calculated using a a CPM metric, or cost per thousand listeners.
You can check AdvertiseCast.com which shows the industry rates currently.
As you can see, you really won’t make any “real money” until your listenership gets quite large. When your podcast does take off though you could easily turn the podcast into your primary income source.
Below is an example:
Example Podcast Sponsorship Income
Listeners per episode: 10,000
Type of advertisement: 30-second ad
Advertising Rates: $22 CPM
$22 x 10 (for the 10,000 listens) = $220 per episode
Your monthly income:
This example is for only running one single 30-second ad roll (say as a midroll or postroll) in each episode. Many podcasts have a pre, mid, and post roll sponsor which can command even more revenue for you each month. A lot of the larger podcast are getting 150,000 downloads per episode, so that means they could be making $33,600 for having (2) 30-second ad rolls in a simple 4 episodes per month podcast!
Now that you understand the industry standards, let’s determine how many average listeners you are getting per episode for your CPM.
To determine this look at the download numbers of your episodes starting at 6 weeks out. You can see these numbers in many podcast media hosts or other download tracking services we covered in the Tracking Your Stats lesson.
Remember, you’re guaranteeing a MINIMUM number of listens, so you need to be confident that you are fulfilling your end of the bargain.
Once you see that EVERY episode is over a certain number of downloads by week 6, that is your CPM.
Once you have the number of downloads you are averaging for each episode, divide that number by 1,000 and that is you CPM Rate.
Example CPM Rate Calculation
Average Listeners Per Episode Over 6 Week Period From Publishing: 752
752 listeners / 1,000 = .752 CPM Rate
Now let’s determine your CPM Rate for your podcast
Using the formula above or the CPM calculator here, determine your CPM rate.
Now let’s answer the most important question for yourself and your podcast.
Do you want to have sponsors and what is the LEAST amount of money it would take for you to dilute your podcast with a sponsorship?
Dilute is not meant as a dirty word here. It is meant as a reality.
When you bring on a sponsor, no matter how relevant, and no matter how awesome, you are on some level diluting the message of your podcast.
You’re going to turn off some listeners, (although very few if you do it right), you’re going to be sending some listeners away on actions that do not involve your platform, and you’ll be distracting some focus from the main content of your podcast.
This is community of people. Your listeners are valuable so don’t sell them out as without a minimum price tag.
Is that $100 per episode, $500, $1000?
Once you know this number you can use the calculations above to set a goal for how much you need to grow your show in listener base before getting sponsors.
Also if you know your number, you will be in a MUCH better position come negotiation time with your sponsors.
Reflect on the following questions:
Below are a few videos to help you get started thinking about monetization.
Demonstrate mastery of the knowledge and skills presented in this lesson by applying it to the above activity. If, and only if, you have a full understanding and have mastered the knowledge and skills presented in this lesson, select the next lesson in the navigation.
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